Book Review – The Night Hawks by Elly Griffiths

This is book number 13 in the Ruth Galloway series and a word to the wise – these really need to be read in order and do not work well as a stand-a-lone read. 

Ruth is a forensic archaeologist who lives near Norfolk, England and is now in her late forties.  She has a daughter, Kate, who is eleven years old and they live in a remote cottage with their cat Flint.  Ruth tries to live a quiet life but, in each book, she gets pulled into investigations by the police when bones are found that are believed to be “old”.  In The Night Hawks, she is now head of her department at the local university and once again, she receives a call from the police requesting her assistance.

I started reading this series when Book 1, The Crossing Places, was released and was immediately hooked.  At the time, it was a fairly unique storyline and I found the character, Ruth, refreshing and different from the usual protagonists.  As with any long-running series, some of the books are better than others but I am happy to say that I found The Night Hawks on the better end of the scale (4/5 stars).  I highly recommend the books in this series as they are satisfying mysteries and the author has done a good job with character development along the way.

Thank you to Netgalley and Houghton Mifflin Harcourt for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: